Yoakam Award

John Yoakam Award for Service to LGBTQ Elders

Training to Serve established the John Yoakam Award for Service to LGBTQ Elders in 2011 to annually honor a senior service organization or an individual in Minnesota that has made strides to provide an environment where compassionate care for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender older adults can flourish.

The award is named in memory of John Yoakam. Dr. Yoakam served as a faculty member at the College of Saint Benedict and Saint John’s University and became chair of the Social Work Department in 2001. He was a faculty sponsor of PRiSM, the campus organization for LGBTQ students. He helped organize the first Lavender graduation ceremonies for LGBTQ and allied students and served as a facilitator for the Gay and Bisexual Men’s group in St. Cloud. Professionally, John became active in several organizations involved with concerns of aging within the LGBTQ community, including the American Society on Aging’s LGAIN and GLBT Generations in the Twin Cities. Dr. Yoakam passed away on April 20, 2009.

To be considered for the Yoakam Award, nominated individuals or organizations must either directly serve older adults, include them as a service delivery target audience, or have influenced the delivery of aging services.  The nominee must be located within Minnesota.  The award winner will be recognized in a press release, website marketing, and other promotional activities of JustUs Health. The winning individual or a representative from the winning organization must be present at the annual JustUs Health / Training to Serve benefit.

Nominations are open from December 1 through January 10 each year.  JustUs Health Board members cannot nominate organizations they are employed by or have ownership in, but they may nominate fellow board members'  organization affiliations.

2019 Yoakam Award

Past Recipients

2011:  CareMinders

2012:  Volunteers of America

2013:  Minnesota Department of Human Services & Minnesota Board on Aging

2014:  Amherst H. Wilder Foundation

2015:  Senior Communitiy Services

2016:  Alexandra House

2017: Jones-Harrison Residence & Harry Hartigan

2018: Little Brothers Friends of the Elderly

2019: Metropolitan Area Agency on Aging